+91-80-26860424 / 34

Call Us Today



Intellectual Property FAQ’s

BananaIP Counsels > Intellectual Property FAQ’s

Intellectual Property FAQ’s


The Indian Patent Office (http://www.ipindia.nic.in/patents.htm) headed by Controller General of Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks is the patent granting authority in India. The office has been established under the Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion. nnThere are four patent offices in India. The patent offices are located at Mumbai, Chennai, New Delhi and Kolkata. An applicant will have to pick an appropriate office for filing a patent application based on the territorial jurisdiction of the patent offices. The territorial jurisdiction of each of the patent office is provided below, and the same can be found at http://www.ipindia.nic.in/jurisdiction-of-patent-offices.htm nnTerritorial Jurisdiction nnMumbai nThe States of Maharashtra, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Goa and Chhattisgarh and the Union Territories of Daman and Diu & Dadra and Nagar Haveli nnChennai nThe States of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and the Union Territories of Pondicherry and Lakshadweep nnNew Delhi nThe States of Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Uttaranchal, Delhi and the Union Territory of Chandigarh nnKolkata nThe rest of India n

Category: Patents